The Major Projects
Mr. Aziz Hasbi
Professor of Higher Education, researcher in international relations

A pragmatic initiative serving the national interest

Moroccan geostrategic initiative is moving forward at the very core's relationship that globalisation has forged between security, peace and development. The global context has also made semantic frontiers disappear between strategy, geopolitics and geostrategy, putting them together in a continuum that incorporates them into a dynamic which has little regard for doctrinal ratiocinations. In the same way, a geostrategic viewpoint incorporates various aspects of national and international policies that a country implements. Therefore, on an international level, such a viewpoint is not only geopolitical, as international life has so far done little to avert conflct.

Well aware of stakes at play due to its geographical position at the crossroads of two greatseas, and with achievement of territorial integrity undermined by diffiult neighbours, theKingdom has developed a multi-faceted vision of its place in the world. Its conception of international relations is marked by its experience in combatting foreign domination and its tradition for national interests' punctilious defence in a region under threat from strategies of competing international actors with covetous eyes on its geographical territory.

Although it is a strategic ally of the western world's major powers and enjoys conflct-free relations with the world's other great nations, Morocco is an advocate of the self-help so dear to realists. Having learned from painful and repeated involvement in the western Mediterranean 's tumultuous history, and as a close Sahel neighbour where borders are theoretical and transnational phenomena threaten the entire region, the kingdom occupies a signifiant military position in comparison to countries at the same level. Furthermore, its material power is insignifiant within global forces and none of its wealth is currently sought after on the international economic market, the Kingdom seeks to make the utmost of its favourable geographical location, prestigious historical and civilisational capital, and strong symbolic values. The image it puts forward highlights the country's convivial and reassuring aspects.

The Kingdom has therefore been quick in showing that it does not favour "hard power" and that its military effort is defensive rather than offensive. As a result, its "soft power" strategy has been visibly strengthened - a strategy based on attraction power development and "soft inflence" diplomacy deployment, with wide diplomatic and economic openness, pragmatic and taking national interests into full account, as its kernel. As a result, the country does its utmost to make a good impression on the international scene through propagation of a label, whose latter is at the interaction's heart between its internal and external policies, reflcting the assets sum total and positive characteristics accumulated on a national level and serving as a tool to help increase its external inflence. It is closely linked to national interests defence, political and economic alike. Its content, often elaborated in royal speeches - the message on August 30th 2013 amongst others - also serves as a roadmap for action to be undertaken on an international level to optimise the country's political and diplomatic inflence and express it in economic and social gains (increased exchanges, foreign investment's attraction, etc.). Image content determination seen by the Kingdom as its own, the one it seeks to promote abroad is therefore closely connected to its strategy on strengthening its position internationally.

Those who have criticised Morocco's absence from the international scene, in comparison with the reign of His late Majesty King Hassan II, were somewhat in error. From the diplomatic point of view, what we have witnessed was a change in strategy, a new type of repositioning best adapted to Morocco's advantages and drawbacks in a more complex world where competition is not corrected by political relations as in the Cold War period. Few ideological discriminants now exist to justify a country being supported simply because it belongs to a bloc. The world lives its contradictions from one day to the next and national interests are reassured. Hence the need for a geostrategic initiative suffiiently stable and balanced to reflct the image of a law-abiding country with a predictable political agenda, but one that is also flxible enough to adapt to a more fragile world's realities, a world in constant mutation.

Stability of its national institutions and its peaceful transition to democracy and rule of law, opening of its economy and its adhesion to multilateralism, drafting of sector-specifi strategies along with outstanding logistical positioning, promotion of privileged circles of friends and strategic partners amongst powers that matter, and the reasonable search to satisfy national interests in the context of balanced and unifid relations have progressively lent credibility to Morocco's quest for attraction power and soft inflence. Diplomacy of the Sovereign's visits to foreign powers and public diplomacy practice in the fild are in marked contrast to other countries in the region. Morocco's inflence within nations' community appears well on track.

The Kingdom's geostrategic choices should be further directed towards strengthening partnerships with traditional associates (France and Spain). Such consolidation should be bolstered by more balanced relations, looking for triangular capture market shares' alliances on an international level. The circle of friendship should be more institutional than personal, in particular as regards to countries which have not yet started upon filing governance gaps' process. The lesson learnt from the international economic crisis should encourage greater diversifiation of international outlets through a pragmatic policy based on a realistic vision.

We must, of course, keep in mind the close relationship between a country's attractiveness on an international level and its ability to meet internal expectations and challenges. A State's international policy mirrors its domestic policy.

Les Grands Projets
Mr. Aziz Hasbi
Professeur de l’Enseignement supérieur, chercheur en relations internationales


Une démarche pragmatique au service de l’intérêt national

La démarche géostratégique du Maroc se place au cœur du lien que le monde globalisé a tissé entre sécurité, paix et développement. Le contexte mondial a, par ailleurs, fait disparaître les frontières sémantiques entre stratégie, géopolitique et géostratégie, les plaçant dans un continuum qui les intègre dans une dynamique peu soucieuse des ratiocinations doctrinales. Dans cet ordre d’idée, un regard géostratégique intègre les diverses facettes des politiques nationale et inter nationale que mène un pays. Au niveau international, ce regard n’est donc pas que géopolitique, parce que la vie internationale est loin d’avoir conjuré le conflit.

Conscient des enjeux dans le cadre desquels le place sa position géographique de pays au carrefour de deux grandes mers, dont le parachèvement de l’intégrité territoriale est mis à mal par un voisinage difficile, le Royaume a développé une vision à détentes multiples de sa position dans le monde. Sa conception des rapports internationaux est marquée par son expérience de lutte contre la domination étrangère et sa tradition de défense sourcilleuse de ses intérêts nationaux dans une région traversée par les stratégies d’acteurs internationaux concurrents qui n’ont cessé de convoiter son espace géographique.

Bien que bénéficiant d’une position d’allié stratégique des principales puissances et institutions du monde occidental, et n’entretenant pas de rapports conflictuels avec les autres grands Etats du monde, le Maroc est partisan du self help cher aux réalistes. Instruit par une implication douloureuse et répétitive dans l’histoire tumultueuse de la Méditerranée occidentale, et voisin proche d’un Sahel où les frontières sont théoriques et où les phénomènes transnationaux menacent toute la région, il occupe une position militaire non négligeable en comparaison avec les pays de même niveau. N’étant cependant pas doté d’une puissance matérielle significative sur l’échelle du rapport des forces mondiales, ni de richesses en vogue sur le marché économique international, le Royaume cherche à exploiter une position géographique favorable, un capital historique et civilisationnel prestigieux et des valeurs symboliques fortes. L’image promue présente le pays dans sa dimension conviviale et rassurante.

Le Royaume a donc tôt montré qu’il ne privilégiait pas le hard power et que son effort militaire est plutôt défensif qu’offensif. De ce fait, sa stratégie de soft power s’est renforcée à vue d’œil. Celle-ci s’est articulée sur le développement d’une puissance d’attraction et le déploiement d’une diplomatie d’influence douce. Une large ouverture diplomatique et économique, pragmatique et soucieuse de l’intérêt national, a constitué le noyau dur de cette stratégie. Le pays déploie de ce fait beaucoup d’efforts pour faire bonne figure au plan international à travers la propagation d’un label. Celui-ci est au cœur de l’articulation entre politique interne et politique extérieure : il reflète la somme des atouts et des singularités positives accumulés au niveau national et sert d’outil à la recherche d’accroissement de l’influence à l’extérieur. Il est intimement lié à la défense de l’intérêt national, tant politique qu’économique. Son contenu, souvent décliné dans le discours royal, notamment le message du 30 août 2013, se présente d’ailleurs comme une feuille de route des actions à entreprendre au niveau international pour optimiser l’influence politique et diplomatique du pays et la traduire en gains économiques et sociaux (intensification des échanges, attraction des investissements étrangers, etc.).

La fixation d’un contenu à l’image que le Royaume pense être la sienne et qu’il cherche à promouvoir à l’extérieur est ainsi intimement liée à sa stratégie de positionnement sur la scène internationale.

Ceux qui avaient développé une critique quant à l’absence du Maroc de la scène internationale, en comparaison avec le règne de feu Hassan II, se sont quelque peu fourvoyés. Du point de vue diplomatique, nous avons assisté plutôt à un changement de stratégie, à un repositionnement d’un nouveau genre, plus adapté aux atouts et aux contraintes du Maroc dans un monde plus complexe où la compétition n’est pas corrigée par des relations politiques à l’instar de celles de la période de la guerre froide. Désormais, il n’existe presque plus de discriminant idéologique permettant de soutenir un pays juste parce qu’il est intégré, lié à un bloc. Le monde vit ses contradictions au jour le jour et les intérêts nationaux sont décomplexés. D’où la nécessité d’une démarche géostratégique suffisamment stable et équilibrée pour refléter l’image d’un pays régulier et à la politique prévisible ; mais aussi suffisamment souple pour s’adapter aux données d’un monde plus fragile et en mutation permanente.

La stabilité des institutions nationales et la transition pacifique vers plus de démocratie et un Etat de droit, l’ouverture économique et l’adhésion au multilatéralisme, l’élaboration de stratégies sectorielles adossées à un positionnement logistique remarquable, la promotion de cercles privilégiés d’amis et de partenaires stratégiques parmi les puissances qui comptent, la recherche raisonnable de satisfaire l’intérêt national dans le cadre de rapports équilibrés et solidaires, ont progressivement crédibilisé la quête par le Maroc d’une puissance attractive et d’une influence douce. La diplomatie des déplacements physiques du Souverain et la pratique sur le terrain d’une diplomatie publique font la différence par rapport aux pays de la région. L’influence du Maroc au sein du concert des nations est ainsi objectivement bien en marche.

Ces choix géostratégiques devraient encore davantage s’inscrire dans le renforcement des liens de partenariats avec les associés traditionnels (France, Espagne). Cette consolidation devrait s’appuyer sur des rapports plus équilibrés et plus soucieux d’alliance pour la conquête triangulaire de parts de marchés à l’échelle internationale. Le cercle de l’amitié devrait être plus institutionnel que personnel, notamment avec les pays qui n’ont pas encore entamé le processus de comblement des déficits de gouvernance. La leçon donnée par la crise économique internationale devrait inciter à une plus grande diversification des débouchés internationaux, par le biais d’une politique pragmatique fondée sur une vision réaliste.

Il est bien entendu évident de garder à l’esprit la relation intime entre l’attractivité d’un pays à l’international et sa capacité de bien répondre aux attentes et aux défis à l’interne. La politique internationale d’un Etat demeure le reflet de sa politique domestique.